The eternal quest . . .

There are many disciplined dressmakers out there who pick a pattern and then go in search of fabric for it, find it, sew it up, and thus never accumulate a stash.  Alas, I am not one of those lucky people.  I have fabric in boxes, fabric in drawers, fabric in cupboards.  And, even though I am on a restricted fabric diet,  even dieters have to eat something– or buy an occasional yardage of fabric.    So I haven’t really reduced my stash by much even with dieting.  Which leads me to the eternal quest to find a pattern to use with a length of my stashed fabric.   I have a lovely mod-ish rayon lycra jersey print that I bought 1.5 yards of, thinking that I’d make a basic t-shirt from it.  Then, when I saw it and loved the 60’s feel of it, I thought I’d make it into a version of a Knipmode top with a scarf peice that goes around the neck and through the top itself–only I’d add 3/4 sleeves for fall weather.  Well, 1.5 yards wasn’t enough, so I thought I’d make it into a BWOF top from last fall that has a neck tie and full sleeves that are gathered into elastic at the wrist–not enough fabric again (long, full sleeves are real fabric hogs).  I was beginning to think I would be stuck making a basic t-shirt when my August BWOF arrived and I saw this . . .

 

Here’s the technical drawing: 

I shortened it from a tunic/dress length to top length and cut it out last night.   Can’t wait to get started–nothing like sewing a knit for almost instant gratification–at least compared to all those blouses and the shirtdress I have been sewing.

2 Responses to “The eternal quest . . .”

  1. I am excited to see what you think about it. I really like this pattern too and was thinking of shortening it into a top too.

  2. graycatsewing Says:

    Thanks Dawn, it does work as a top, but I did have some issues with it which I’ll post more extensively about.

Leave a comment